Login

Ripping Models. Ask all your questions here!

Ask all your questions on how to use 3D programs, and how to work with Pepakura
  • Author
    Message

Ripping Models. Ask all your questions here!

Postby Gazamaniac » Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:57 pm

Hello everyone. It seems some of you would like help with ripping models. :huh: This thread is pretty much for discussion, questions, and answers about ripping models from games. Tomorrow I will post a full guide to ripping n64 models. :D I'll also tell you all I know about ripping DS and Gamecube models, although I don't know as much about those. If you have any questions, just ask! :laugh:

••• Index •••

>64 Ripping
-Concepts (1)
-How To (1) (2)
-What to Use (1)
-Project64 Download (1)
-1964 Download (1)
-Lemmy's Plug-in Downloads (1) (2) (3)
-"Install" Lemmy's (1) (2)
-Error: "Debug Error" (1)
-Create a vrml Folder (1)
-Empty VRML Folder (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6)
-No C: Drive (1)
-Roms Quit Working (1)
-Error: "No Controller" (1) (2)
-Error: "Line 24" (1) (2)
-Error: "Exception" (1) (2)
-Error: "Failed to allocate memory" (1) (2)
-Error: "Unexpected error" (1)
-Error: "Too Many Commands" (1)
-No "Export VRML" Option (Missing Lemmy's) (1)
-Problem Graphics (1) (2)
-Missing Textures (1) (2)
-Mac Emulation (1)
-Vista Emulation (1)

>DS Ripping
-How To (1)
-Finding files from DSLazy (1)
-DSLazy: "Not a valid Win32" (1)
-Tahaxan (1)
-HijackGL (1) (2)
-No .obj (1) (2)
-Error: "Incorrect Configuration" (1) (2)
-.bin Files (1)
-Opening file with nsbmd.exe (1) (2)

>GCN Ripping
-Tutorial (1) (2)

>Dolphin
-Slow Speed (1)

>3DRipperDX
-0kb "Empty" Files (1)
-Squished Geometry - FOV Problems (1) (2) (3)
-Textures - .dds Files(1) (2)

>Wii
-How-To (1)

>Working with VRML
-Conversion (1)

>Blender
-Tutorials (1)
-Open .wrl (1)
-Open .MDX (1)
-Textures (1) (2)

>Metasequoia
-Textures (1) (2) (3) (4) (5)

>AccuTrans
-Download (1)
-Edit (1)

>Pepakura
-Textures (1)

>Other
-.rbh Files (1)
-Screenshots (1)
-Super FX (1)
-Rip from Flash Player (1)

>Computer Games
-What to Use (1) (2)
Last edited by Navi03 on Thu Nov 12, 2009 7:42 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Reason: Added Index
I need a new sig... and a new avatar. Just saying.
User avatar
Gazamaniac
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:19 am
Location: On Stage

Re: Ripping Models

Postby AUSTINMEADOWS » Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:50 pm

Thaks! I can't wait to read the guide. Finally, I can rip some animal crossing models. :D
User avatar
AUSTINMEADOWS
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: Azeroth

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Red Yoshi » Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:19 am

I would really like some of the ds models. (phantom hourglass especially) I'm a noob as far as ds ripping goes though....
Any glue... Will do
User avatar
Red Yoshi
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Sterling, Virginia

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Drummyralf » Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:25 am

AUSTINMEADOWS wrote:Thaks! I can't wait to read the guide. Finally, I can rip some animal crossing models. :D

Note that you can't rip from the N64 game "animal Forest"

You might be interested in Navi's "gamecube ripping guide" though, so you can rip from Animal Crossing :)
Image
User avatar
Drummyralf
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Kokiri Forest

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gazamaniac » Wed Jun 11, 2008 3:00 pm

Okay guys here it is: my tutorial for ripping n64 models! :thumbup: I put download link at the bottom of this post to download the things you need.

Download Project 64 (link at the bottom of this post). Note that if you are using a version lower than 1.7, it won't work. If you already have the emulator installed, you will need to download and install "lemmy's plugin" (I already installed it on the download I provided. :p )
Create a folder in your main drive called "VRML" (for example, mine is C:\VRML). This is the folder which the model and textures will be ripped into.
Finally, start up Project64.exe. Click on Options>Settings and a settings window will pop up. Under "Video (graphics) plugin," select "Nemu64 Graphics (combine debug)" and click OK.

Now for the fun part! ;) Open the rom you want to rip the model from and play it to the scene you want to rip. Note that it will rip the entire room you are in, so I recommend you try to get the model you want in a smaller room. Pause the game with F2 in the place you want the models to be ripped, then go to Options>Configure Graphics Plugin, and select "Export VRML" then click OK. Quickly tap F2 twice to un-pause and re-pause the game for only a moment to capture only one frame (capturing more that one frame can result in missing faces on the models).
You can now go back to Options>Configure Graphics Plugin and untick the Export VRML box. Now if you go to the VRML folder you made earlier, there should be some *.bmp files (textures) and a file called "output.wrl" (the 3d model).
Unfortunately, not too many 3D modeling softwares can import wrl files. I use 3DS Max, but it's quite expensive and it might not be worth your money if you just wanna convert it into a different format. There is a 30-day trial available if you wanna check it out.

(BTW, can Metasequoia import wrl? :???: I wouldn't know since I don't use it, but it might be helpful to anyone who doesn't have 3DS Max . . .)

Fell free to post any questions!

Download Link: http://www.gazamaniac.co.za/Project64_1.7.0.zip
I need a new sig... and a new avatar. Just saying.
User avatar
Gazamaniac
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:19 am
Location: On Stage

Re: Ripping Models

Postby AUSTINMEADOWS » Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:30 pm

3ds max is like a couple thousand dollars, isn't it?
User avatar
AUSTINMEADOWS
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: Azeroth

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gazamaniac » Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:19 pm

AUSTINMEADOWS wrote:3ds max is like a couple thousand dollars, isn't it?

yeah I think so. I'm using the trial version, but I'll make a plan when the 30 days are up . . . if you ask me it's quite a ridiculous price . . . :thumbdown:
I need a new sig... and a new avatar. Just saying.
User avatar
Gazamaniac
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:19 am
Location: On Stage

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Drummyralf » Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:28 pm

That's because it's for commercial use, just like Photoshop. In my honest opinion, people who don't use the program for commercial purposes can just use a keygen to get acces to the program. They aren't making any profit of the program after all.

The same with Photoshop.
Image
User avatar
Drummyralf
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Kokiri Forest

Re: Ripping Models

Postby AUSTINMEADOWS » Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:00 pm

keygen? :???:
User avatar
AUSTINMEADOWS
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: Azeroth

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gazamaniac » Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:13 pm

Drummyralf wrote:That's because it's for commercial use, just like Photoshop. In my honest opinion, people who don't use the program for commercial purposes can just use a keygen to get acces to the program. They aren't making any profit of the program after all.

The same with Photoshop.

Hey I guess you're right. So I went off and found a keygen for all of you who want it! I now have 3DS fully functional! But before I post the link, is it legal to link to a keygen? :???:
Oh, and AUSTINMEADOWS, a keygen is a KEY GENerator. It will generate a fake key to activate the software you are using. Most keygen sites are pretty dodgy and crawling with viruses, but I found this 3DS Max keygen on Rapidshare
I need a new sig... and a new avatar. Just saying.
User avatar
Gazamaniac
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:19 am
Location: On Stage

Re: Ripping Models

Postby AUSTINMEADOWS » Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:08 pm

isn't that ummmm.... illegal? in some way?
User avatar
AUSTINMEADOWS
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: Azeroth

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gollum999 » Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:13 pm

I was able to import .wrl files into Blender, but I had to install a plugin first.

Can you give a tut on how to fix textures for papercrafting? That's my main problem. I can get the model, but the textures are all screwy. Or maybe that's only in Blender?
      Image
See this picture? Click it if you like free stuff! ($190 so far) | My Blog |  My Papercraft Blog
User avatar
Gollum999
Designer
Designer
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:04 am
Location: Black Mesa

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Red Yoshi » Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:37 pm

It's illegal in every way. That's why most people use blender. :)
Any glue... Will do
User avatar
Red Yoshi
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 352
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Sterling, Virginia

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gollum999 » Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:47 pm

Red Yoshi wrote:It's illegal in every way. That's why most people use blender. :)

Yeah, I agree. Although, $4000 is really expensive. As far as price is concerned, Blender is the best option, by far.
      Image
See this picture? Click it if you like free stuff! ($190 so far) | My Blog |  My Papercraft Blog
User avatar
Gollum999
Designer
Designer
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:04 am
Location: Black Mesa

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Kratos » Thu Jun 12, 2008 3:32 am

I use Deep Exploration. It's got a free 30-day trial download and there's a crack for it to give you the full version. I don't know how to find the crack though. Someone on 4chan gave it to me. (I spend way to much time on there XD) You might ask Pixel-Kakashi. I think he might have been the one that provided me with the link to the crack.
User avatar
Kratos
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 7:19 am
Location: United States

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Elemental Fire » Thu Jun 12, 2008 8:51 am

By the way, yes Metasequoia can handle vrml files.

It can also handle: MQO (native format), SUF, RDF, SCE, COB, X, POV, LWO, 3DS, OBJ and DXL.

If you're using 2.4 (shareware version), you can only export as MQO files (which do indeed work in Pepakura) unless you pay (then you can export any of those).

If you happen to have XP and are using 2.3 (free version), it can export as all of those formats except LWO, VRML, OBJ, and 3DS (probably the 4 most common, but most 3D programs can handle most of those other ones).
Image
*click Midna for my Megaupload papercraft collection*
User avatar
Elemental Fire
Senior Papercrafter
Senior Papercrafter
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 12:19 am
Location: I come from a land down under

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gazamaniac » Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:54 am

I have researched it, and all keygens are illegal no matter what you use them for. :( But I have found other wrl importers, so I don't really need Max anymore! :p
I need a new sig... and a new avatar. Just saying.
User avatar
Gazamaniac
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:19 am
Location: On Stage

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Elemental Fire » Thu Jun 12, 2008 11:26 am

Not entirely true. In fact, Gazamaniac's definition of a keygen isn't really true, as the vast majority of keygens generate a REAL key, not a fake one. External keygens, however, are illegal - any commercial program that requires a registration key contains a keygen which means that keygens in themselves aren't actually illegal. A keygen, by name, generates a registration key, which is exactly what commercial software does - it takes the name you type in, encrypts it with an encryption algorithm (ie. it generates a key), then compares it to the registration key you typed in. In fact, it's because they work like this that illegal keygens are so easy to make.

There are lots of wrl importers out there - most 3D software should be able to do it including (but not limited to): Metasequoia, Blender, and Deep Exploration - all of which have been listed on these boards at least somewhere.
Image
*click Midna for my Megaupload papercraft collection*
User avatar
Elemental Fire
Senior Papercrafter
Senior Papercrafter
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 12:19 am
Location: I come from a land down under

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gazamaniac » Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:12 pm

elemental fire wrote:Not entirely true. In fact, Gazamaniac's definition of a keygen isn't really true, as the vast majority of keygens generate a REAL key, not a fake one. External keygens, however, are illegal - any commercial program that requires a registration key contains a keygen which means that keygens in themselves aren't actually illegal. A keygen, by name, generates a registration key, which is exactly what commercial software does - it takes the name you type in, encrypts it with an encryption algorithm (ie. it generates a key), then compares it to the registration key you typed in. In fact, it's because they work like this that illegal keygens are so easy to make.

There are lots of wrl importers out there - most 3D software should be able to do it including (but not limited to): Metasequoia, Blender, and Deep Exploration - all of which have been listed on these boards at least somewhere.

There you have it, folks! :p
I need a new sig... and a new avatar. Just saying.
User avatar
Gazamaniac
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:19 am
Location: On Stage

Re: Ripping Models

Postby AUSTINMEADOWS » Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:45 pm

what about googlel skethup?
User avatar
AUSTINMEADOWS
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: Azeroth

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gazamaniac » Thu Jun 12, 2008 3:04 pm

AUSTINMEADOWS wrote:what about googlel skethup?

That is one thing that should be mentioned: I find that even after the models have been converted, after being imported into google sketchup they lose some of their faces and you are left with a wireframe. I tried to fill it in, but for some reason it doesn't work for me. I think it's just a sketchup problem. :hmmz: And i don't think there is a feature or plugin to import VRML into sketchup . . . pity really.
I need a new sig... and a new avatar. Just saying.
User avatar
Gazamaniac
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:19 am
Location: On Stage

Re: Ripping Models

Postby AUSTINMEADOWS » Thu Jun 12, 2008 4:29 pm

ok. whats a vrml plugin. :???: (excuse my low knowledge of this technical stuff.)
User avatar
AUSTINMEADOWS
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: Azeroth

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gollum999 » Thu Jun 12, 2008 4:32 pm

It would just be some sort of external script that you would download, and it would use the script to open the file.
      Image
See this picture? Click it if you like free stuff! ($190 so far) | My Blog |  My Papercraft Blog
User avatar
Gollum999
Designer
Designer
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:04 am
Location: Black Mesa

Re: Ripping Models

Postby AUSTINMEADOWS » Thu Jun 12, 2008 4:35 pm

Gollum999 wrote:It would just be some sort of external script that you would download, and it would use the script to open the file.



ok, thanks. I kind of get what you're saying
User avatar
AUSTINMEADOWS
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: Azeroth

Re: Ripping Models

Postby zpoyusa » Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:59 am

I can't get metasequoia to open the .wrl file, how are you doing it?
zpoyusa
Junior Papercrafter
Junior Papercrafter
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 12:17 am

Re: Ripping Models

Postby The Unseen » Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:04 am

how can i change a .MDX to a file that pepakura supports
Will Fill in this signature! eventually till then....
Never Gonna Give you up, Never gonna let you down, never gonna run around and desert you! Never gonna make you cry, never gonna say goodbye! never gonna tell a lie and hurt you!
User avatar
The Unseen
Recolorer
Recolorer
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 5:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gazamaniac » Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:18 am

The Unseen wrote:how can i change a .MDX to a file that pepakura supports

I haven't tried this out for myself so I don't know if it works, but I found an MDX import tool for blender. Here's the link: http://projects.blender.org/frs/?group_ ... ase_id=224
And if you don't have blender, get it here: http://www.blender.org/download/get-blender/
I need a new sig... and a new avatar. Just saying.
User avatar
Gazamaniac
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:19 am
Location: On Stage

Re: Ripping Models

Postby The Unseen » Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:44 am

Gazamaniac wrote:
The Unseen wrote:how can i change a .MDX to a file that pepakura supports

I haven't tried this out for myself so I don't know if it works, but I found an MDX import tool for blender. Here's the link: http://projects.blender.org/frs/?group_ ... ase_id=224
And if you don't have blender, get it here: http://www.blender.org/download/get-blender/

Thanks, i want to try and make some wc3 papaercraft
Will Fill in this signature! eventually till then....
Never Gonna Give you up, Never gonna let you down, never gonna run around and desert you! Never gonna make you cry, never gonna say goodbye! never gonna tell a lie and hurt you!
User avatar
The Unseen
Recolorer
Recolorer
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 5:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Ripping Models

Postby Gazamaniac » Sun Jun 15, 2008 11:55 am

Okay, I wasn't gonna do this until I had found more info on it, but I may as well tell you what I know. It's time for me to give you a basic tutorial on ripping DS models! :thumbup: If you see an asterisk (*) next to a file or folder, it means it is in the download.

Ripping from the DS is a bit trickier than from n64. If you follow the instructions carefully, It should work out fine. Again, I have put the download link at the bottom of this post.

With DS ripping, we don't rip a scene from an emulation. We extract the models from the rom. After you have downloaded and unpacked the download, run the GLIntercept0_5.exe* file. It will install GLIntercept. When installation is complete, go to the installed folder of GLIntercept (for me, it is C:\Program Files\GLIntercept0_5) and open it. Open the "Plugins" folder and copy the folder named OGLE* into the Plugins folder. Now you can relax, the hardest part is over! :)

Here comes the fun part! :p Open the folder named dslazy* and run dslazy.exe. Click on the button with 3 dots (to the left of the white text box) and browse to the nds rom you want to rip from. Click on "nds unpack" and it will unpack the files of the rom.

Now for some bad news. :cry: Nintendo DS models are usually in a file format called .nsbmd. However, some models are not. A lot of models end in .bin, and cannot be ripped (well, there is a way, but I have been trying to find out how for nearly 2 months now, and still no luck). So for now, if your models aren't in .nsbmd, tough luck. :cry: (I regret to inform all Zelda fans, Phantom Hourglass models are .bin and not .nsbmd :( )

But if your models DO end in nsbmd, you're in luck! Find the models and paste them into the NSBMD* folder. If the model has a texture file (usually ends in .nsbtx) then copy that too. Drag and drop the model over nsbmd.exe and it should open a window with the 3D model. If it doesn't, it means the model won't work :hmmz: (well there might be a way to get it to work but I don't know). If you are lucky enough to have your model working, then get the entire model (or as much as you can of it) in view and press F. DO NOT CLOSE THE MODEL VIEWER YET! Leave it for a couple of seconds to capture the model. If successful, there should be a new folder in NSBMD called "Frame_(frame number)." In here, you should find a couple of files and folders. If your model had textures, there should be an "Images" folder. But what you really want is the file called ogle.obj - your ripped model!

Unfortunately ripping models from DS games does not always work. There are often annoying problems that nobody knows how to fix, and very often things do not work out. Although I'm not an expert on this topic, I'll be happy to answer any questions and I'll try help out where I can if you have any problems. I'll keep trying to find ways to get it to work better, but for now this is all I can give you guys :closedeys: sorry . . .

BTW - in the NSBMD folder, there is a file called gliConfig.ini. This file contains the "instructions" for the model to be ripped. But you may need to edit it, because some of the directories may need to be changed if your main drive is not C:\. Have a look at the file and you'll see what I mean.

Download: http://www.gazamaniac.co.za/DS_ripping_tools.zip
I need a new sig... and a new avatar. Just saying.
User avatar
Gazamaniac
Moderator & Designer
Moderator & Designer
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 11:19 am
Location: On Stage

Re: Ripping Models

Postby AUSTINMEADOWS » Sun Jun 15, 2008 1:01 pm

sounds pretty complitcated :ohmy: thanks very much for sharing you secrects :)
User avatar
AUSTINMEADOWS
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 752
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: Azeroth

Next

Return to Designing Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron